Official Documents


National Social Assistance Programme 

Frequently Asked Questions



There are five major national pension schemes (many states also have their own schemes):

Indira Gandhi National Old Age Pension Scheme (IGNOAPS)

Eligibility (as per central guidelines)

60 years of age and above

Below the Poverty Line (BPL)

 Entitlement (central contribution only - see state-wise pages for state contribution)

₹200 per month*

₹500 per month, for 80 years of age and above*

40-59 years of age

Below the Poverty Line (BPL)

₹300 per month*

Severe or Multiple Disabilities

Below the Poverty Line (BPL)

₹300 per month*

Death of primary breadwinner between 18 - 59 years of age

Below the Poverty Line (BPL)

Lumpsum amount of ₹20,000*

*state governments are expected to contribute an equal amount to double the entitlement

Other state-specific Pension Schemes

Useful Information


National Social Assistance Programme (Ministry of Rural Development)


Minister (Ministry of Rural Development)

Secretary (Ministry of Rural Development)

Project Directors (District Rural Development Agency / Zilla Parishad)

District Collectors / Deputy Commissioner


Right to Information Application Online (only for central government)

Public Information Officers (Department) (States)


Lok Sabha | Rajya Sabha (Parliament Questions)